Birmingham & District Allotment Cooperative

Representing Allotment Gardeners & Associations Across Birmingham

About Us

If you have an allotment in Birmingham then you are a member of Birmingham & District Allotment Cooperative, through your site association. You may attend all meetings of the cooperative, and may observe the Executive meetings. You may contact the Secretary for advice on any matter relating to your plot, although you should speak to your local committee first if appropriate. BDAC plays a role in disputes and conflict resolution that may arise on a site. The group is independent of the Birmingham City Council but tries to work closely with it on many topics but is totally committed to working in the best interests of all plotholders.

There are two members meetings per year. The Annual General Meeting usually takes place in May and the Half Yearly Meeting in November.

The Executive Committee meets monthly.  The Executive comprises of three officers; Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary and up to twelve committee members.   These people are elected at the AGM.    When a vacancy arises during the year the Committee has the power to co-opt members who have been attending meetings as an observer.

The city is divided into 7 areas supported by named executive members and a number of independent advisors. These are experienced plotholders with many years of experiences.

Chair:David ReadWard End
Secretary:Hester BlewittWard End
Treasurer:Yvonne BrookesPereira Road
Cheryl ButlerThornbridge Avenue
Clive FennBirches Green
Stuart GuestTennal Lane
Andrew LargeCourt Oak Road
Kate Martin SmithWest Heath
Kerry McGaheyWest Heath
Dave ReeceGospel Lane
Len TubbsThe Brambles
Tony WebbThornbridge Avenue
Ross WhiteHarborne Lane
John WhittakerThe Leys
Keith YardleyStation Road

Additional Responsibilities
Minutes Secretary: Position vacant
Assistant Secretary: Position vacant
Webmaster: Clive Fenn
Show Secretary: Dave Hubball

Yvonne Brookes, Jason Hodges, John Spencer (and other positions vacant).